## **Queen Mary, University of London**

Queen Mary has its roots in four historic colleges: Queen Mary College, Westfield College, St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College and the London Hospital Medical College.

The Mile End campus is historically the home of Queen Mary College, which began life in 1887 as the People's Palace, a philanthropic endeavour to provide east Londoners with education and social activities. It was admitted to the University of London in 1915 as the East London College. In 1934 the College achieved its Charter of Incorporate as Queen Mary College, named after Queen Mary of Teck, wife of George V.

Westfield College was founded in 1882 as a pioneering college for the higher education of women, and was granted its Royal Charter in 1932. In 1989 Queen Mary College and Westfield College merged to form Queen Mary and Westfield College.

In 1995, Queen Mary and Westfield merged with two distinguished medical colleges, St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, established in 1843, and the London Hospital Medical College, England's first medical school, founded in 1785. Pooling strengths, expertise and resources, this brought clinical medical teaching to Queen Mary for the first time. In 2000 the College changed its working name to Queen Mary, University of London.

Queen Mary, University of London is now one of London and the UK's leading researchfocused higher education institutions. Amongst the largest of the colleges of the University of London with 16,000 students, Queen Mary's 3,000 staff teach and research across a wide range of subjects in three sectors: Humanities and Social Sciences, Medicine and Dentistry, and Science and Engineering.

## The School of Physics and Astronomy

Physics has been taught at Queen Mary since 1888 (as part of the People's Palace). The first student to be awarded a BSc in Physics graduated in 1908 with a first class honours degree. Up until 1960 the Physics department was based in the Queens' Building and in 1960 a bespoke new building opened for the growing discipline.

A full history of the School can be found online at <u>http://ph.qmul.ac.uk/alumni/history-and-archives</u>.

On 1<sup>st</sup> August 2011 the School of Physics merged with the Astronomy Unit creating the new School of Physics and Astronomy. The School is organised around four research groups

- Astronomy Unit
- Centre for Research in String Theory
- Centre for Condensed Matter and Material Physics
- Particle Physics Research Centre

The School has 43 academic staff, 25 research and technical staff, 18 research and academic support staff. Student numbers have grown significantly in recent years and we now have X undergraduate student and X postgraduate students.