Neutrino speed at OPERA

beam trajectory

 The OPERA experiment has recently announced a measurement that contradicts one of the consequences of the special theory of relativity: that matter cannot travel faster than the speed of light. The OPERA experiment is a long-baseline neutrino experiment with the detector based in an underground laboratory in the Gran Sasso mountain. The experiment utilises a high intensity beam of muon neutrinos produced at CERN by the CERN Neutrinos to Gran Sasso (CNGS) facility. The experiment has studied more than 16,000 neutrino events collected over 3 years of running and has used timing information based on the produced neutrinos at CERN and those detected in the OPERA detector to measure the time of flight of the muon neutrino from CNGS to OPERA. The measured time is then compared with the predicted time assuming neutrinos travel at the speed of light.

Researchers' Night

Researchers' Night

Building a Lego universe, discovering the computer wizardry behind magic tricks and tracking emotions on Twitter are just some of the fun ways Londoners can learn about cutting-edge research at Queen Mary, University of London on Friday 23 September.

Queen Mary is one of four UK universities to host Researchers’ Night this year. The annual Europe-wide event brings together the public, academics and artists, to celebrate research and show how it can change and improve lives.

“Researchers’ Night is taking place simultaneously in 500 different venues in over 30 countries. It is an ideal opportunity to explore the university, try out state-of-the-art technology, take part in fascinating experiments, and attempt to out-smart academics,” explains Professor Evelyn Welch, Vice-Principal for Research and International Affairs.

Queen Mary announces Excellence Scholarships of £3,000 a year

Merit Scholarships Announcement

Queen Mary, University of London is announcing new additions to its generous range of scholarships for high-achieving home students.  Excellence Scholarships – worth £3,000 a year – in Science and Engineering and Modern Foreign Language are part of QM’s approach to encourage the best qualified students into subject areas which have been identified as essential to UK economic growth, and which are highly sought after by employers.  

Students must achieve AAA in their best three ‘A’ levels (or equivalent) to be considered for the awards.

The ATLAS experiment narrows the range in the search for the Higgs boson

The ATLAS experiment presented its latest results on the search for the Higgs boson at the Lepton Photon 2011 symposium in Mumbai, India (22-27 Aug.,). This constrains the hypothetical Higgs boson to have a mass either in a narrow range between 115 and 146 GeV or a set of higher, unfavored, values. The Queen Mary ATLAS group participates in the analysis of ATLAS data and contributed in key areas of the ATLAS semiconductor tracker, and in the design and commissioning of the ATLAS calorimeter trigger which selects events for further scrutiny amongst the roughly 800 million collisions per second produced by the Large Hadron Collider.

More information can be found here.

1st Anglo-Chinese workshop on spin interactions in organic semiconductors

CCMMP will be holding the 1st Anglo-Chinese workshop on spin interactions in organic semiconductors at QMUL on the 18th August. The meeting will be attended by 5 physicists from Fudan University, China led by Prof Chang-Qin Wu. The aim of the meeting is to develop collaborative links in organic electronics and organic spintronics between QMUL and Fudan university.

New School of Physics and Astronomy

We are very pleased to announce the new School of Physics and Astronomy, bringing together the School of Physics and the Astronomy Unit, on August 1st 2011. This will open up new opportunities for research, and in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, with an expansion of the School's Astrophysics programmes, new undergraduate projects, and integration with the existing M.Sc. in Astrophysics.

Undergraduate Prizes 2010/11

Undergraduate Prizes 2010/11

We are pleased to announce the following Undergraduate Prizes for 2010/11:

Dominic Bellamy E J Wignall Prize (Best first year student): Dominic Bellamy.





Andrew Bond E J Irons Prize (Best second year student): Andrew Bond.





David Holford College Prize for Academic Excellence: David Holford (B.Sc. First Class). David is applying for PhD studentships in 2011/12.


New European Research Council Award

Dr. Jeanne Wilson

We are very pleased to announce the recent award of a prestigious five year European Research Council Fellowship to Dr. Jeanne Wilson for Probing fundamental properties of the neutrino at the SNO+ Experiment. This grant of €1,345,000 will fund her research work on the SNO+ experiment, probing the fundamental nature of the neutrino and its possible mass and measuring low energy solar neutrino fluxes which will provide an accurate test of the mysterious oscillation of neutrinos from one type into another. The funding will also support a team of postdoctoral and doctoral researchers led by Dr. Wilson. Dr. Wilson joins Dr. Francesca di Lodovico, our other current holder of an ERC Fellowship.

Prof WJ Spence
Head of School