Chronology 2000-


  • January - Publication of A Primer in Applied Radiation Physics by Dr Alan Smith.  
    "A Primer in Applied Radiation Physics, FA Smith, 
        World Scientific Press, 2000
  • April - Cosmic Microwave Background (Further Information from the BBC. HTML)map produced by Boomerang balloon experiment with team from Queen Mary led by Professor Peter Ade.  
    COBE image
    The CMB sky over the prelaunch preparations at Mt. Erebus.
    Boffins headline
  • The Department awarded a grade 5 by the Higher Education Funding Council in the Research Assessment Exercise.
  • The working name of the College changed to Queen Mary, University of London.
  • Change of College logo. 
    QMUL logo


  • Professor David Dunstan appointed Head of Department.  
    Professor DJ Dunstan
  • June - Professor Peter Kalmus awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to Physics.
  • Departmental Brochure.<_p>  
    Departmental Brochure 2001


  • Professor Peter Kalmus awarded the Kelvin Medal for his contributions to the public understanding of physics through public talks, lectures and other activities.
  • September - Publication of Explaining the Universe by Professor John Charap.  
    "Explaining the Universe: the New Age of Physics", JM Charap, 
             Princeton University Press, 2002
  • September. Publication of Quantum Mechanics and Its Emergent Macrophysics by Professor Geoffrey Sewell.  
    "Quantum Mechanics and its Emergent Macrophysics", GL Sewell, 
             Princeton University Press, 2002


  • Professor Chris Hull awarded the Paul Dirac Medal by the Institute of Physics for his pioneering work on superstring theory.
  • October - Professor Sir Peter Mansfield FRS - a physics undergraduate and postgraduate student here from 1956 - 1962 awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine. He was responsible for creating a mathematical method of swiftly decyphering the signals coming back from the scanner, and turning them into three-dimensional images of the internal structures of the body.
    Further information can be found from the BBC (HTML) and the Nobel Foundation. (HTML)
  • Publication of Rotational Diffusion in Dispersive Media by Dr Bob Jones.  


  • July - Professor Peter Kalmus admitted as an Honorary Fellow of the College.
    Presentation speech by Professor Graham Thompson. (PDF)
  • July - Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science awarded to Professor Michael Green.
    Presentation speech by Professor John Charap. (PDF)


  • February - Opening of new Carbon Nanostructures Laboratory by Professor Sir Harry Kroto, FRS.  

    Professor Sir Harry Kroto, Professor Malcolm MacCallum, Vice-Principal (Science & Engineering) and Dr Mark Baxendale.
  • July - the European Physical Society award their Outreach Prize to Professor Peter Kalmus for "communicating results of particle physics experiments to the public".


  • July - Ceremony to re-name the Physics Building as the G.O. Jones Building. The ceremony was performed by Mrs Betty Jones, the widow of Professor G.O. Jones, before an invited audience consisting of past and present staff and students.  

    The Acting Principal, Professor Philip Ogden, with Mrs Betty Jones